Just another WordPress.com site

Room – Journal #2

When Ma and Jack lived in the room the only way they had access and connection to the outside world was through the one television. Jack believes that the people and objects he sees on TV have actually gone inside the screen. His mother tries to explain to him that what they see on TV are actual pictures of real things. Although Jack could not fully understand how the pictures appear on the screen, he was still able to see and learn many important life lessons that he could not have learned if he was just in the room with no access to a TV. Jack enjoyed watching children shows;  he talked to the characters as if they could really hear what he was saying. Since Jack had never met another child close to his own age, he really thought these characters were real and he referred to them as being his friends. Media played a big role in both Jack and Ma’s life. Although Jack may not have fully understood or realized what he was seeing, it still allowed him to see and even almost experience many things that he wasn’t able to do in the room, and it eased his stress and loneliness. For Ma, it allowed her to see the world she has once lived in and to see all of the changes that have occurred

            I believe television and other forms of media help people see and understand a world or point of view that they have never personally experienced. I personally like to watch shows such as the Amazing Race because it allows me to feel as if I am there and as if I am traveling along with the contestants. I also like to watch TV when I am home alone and feeling lonely because listening to all of the people’s voices and laughter allows me to feel as if I have company and that I am not alone. Also, just like Jack,  many children like to create imaginary friends whether it is a character from a television show, a book,  a stuffed animal or a doll. I have also heard many cases where an elderly will watch TV for many hours to keep them company and to pass time since they are often forced to spend more time alone. Media plays an enormous part in one’s life as it did for Jack and for many others including myself.

Leave a comment